Winter has finally made its way to mid-Missouri, but that’s no reason to quit obsessing about the Cedar Cross. This race will happen regardless of the weather, so course development must follow suit. This is, after all, Missouri.. you never know what the weather will be like tomorrow

While we’re out exploring back-roads and narrowing this down to the best 100(+) miles of gravel and singletrack, we like to take a few pictures. This one was taken just south of Hwy Y. On raceday you’ll roll through this spot on fresh legs…and might even see a cow or two. 

                       

I’ve gotten several emails regarding checkpoints, gear drops and SAG support. I’d like to take this opportunity to address these issues. Yes, there will be checkpoints…probably 4 or 5. There are a LOT of things I want you to see out here, and not all of them are accessible on your bike. (You’ll only have to walk a few steps to get there) At least twice, you’ll find yourself overlooking a couple miles-worth of Cedar Creek:

 

Watch out for that first step!

And why would I make you do that? Simple….cool photos. I mean, who wouldn’t want this picture of yourself hanging on the wall?

This overlook is only about ten feet from the trail

I plan to have a gear-drop somewhere near the half-way point. (This is largely dependent on whether or not I can find a volunteer to watch your stuff.) The largest gear bag I will allow is a 1-gallon ziplock bag. Put your name on it and throw it in the back of a volunteer’s truck before the race starts. I think that’s fair.

**Top-secret location**

SAG support is pretty much on you. There’s no way I’d be able to shuttle this many people back to HQ across a 100 mile course. I recommend getting a group together and setting up some kind of plan “just in case” one of you has an issue and needs to leave the course. This is what spouses and family members are for :).

If you’re truly riding solo, please say so in the comments section and maybe we can get you hooked up with some new friends. Most gravel riders are good people, so these things have a way of working themselves out.

Very soon I’ll be posting information regarding hotel accomadations for you out-of-towners. Local businesses are getting excited about Cedar Cross and they’re eager to hand out discounts, free wifi and extra towels.

This race is gonna be awesome.

