Raceday is nearly upon us, my friends. I’ve been getting a lot of emails from folks wanting a sneak-peek at the course so they can fine tune their gear/bike setup. Well, it’s your lucky day because I’m posting the link right now.

Behold

It’d really help me out if everyone could print out their own copy of the map. If you can’t, let me know and I’ll be happy to provide one for you. I’m going to fine-tune the cue-sheet and post an updated version as soon as I can. Mapmyride just gives too many silly details, in my opinion.

I’m also working on getting someone to let me borrow a Garmin. I’ll post that link as soon as it becomes available.

There are a variety of places to refill water/food along the course.

These distances are approximate.

A water spigot rests in front of a church on Barnes Chapel road near the 27 mile mark. This is right before the first section of singletrack.

Your drop bags, (1-gallon ziplock), will greet you at the end of County road 353, near the 47 mile mark. This will be right before the final section of singletrack.

The Hams Prarie gas station/deli is near the 70 mile mark, and they have the best hard-salami sandwiches in all the land. Not the best gummi bear selection, though.

The final refueling station will likely be the country store in beautiful Mokane, near the 88 mile mark. They’ve got root beer in glass bottles, so be excited.

There are one or two other places you could leave the course and hit a gas station, but I don’t think you’ll need to. As long as you re-enter the course in the same place you left, no big deal. Just don’t cut the course on purpose and call yourself a real finisher. Douchebags do that.

Just remember the Golden Rule on raceday: You are responsible for yourself. I can’t stress enough that each rider is on their own adventure. Think of this as a long group ride with a few prizes along the way.

You’ll be equipped with a map and cue sheet and I’ll do my very best to mark the course.. but that is where my responsibility ends. I’d love to see everyone finish the course, but if you can’t…you better have a plan for getting back to the car. There are literally dozens of bailout points, so make sure your SAG people know where to go if you need a ride.

As always, email me with any questions or concerns you may have. I’ll get the Garmin link as soon as I can.

