Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

As we look forward to the 2013 race, I can’t help but wonder what we can do to make it better than ever. Among other things, the prospect of cash payouts comes to mind.

Here’s what I’ve come up with: I’d like to charge a SMALL admission fee this year…say $20. I’ll split it up to cover race expenses, (beer, gas money, bbq, swag, etc.) and to pay out cash awards to the top 3 finishers. If we have as many racers as we did in 2012, 1st place could easily pay out $500.

Now before anyone calls me a sellout, I’d like to make one thing very clear: I’m not here to make money.. I just don’t want to lose my ass (again). Trust me, everyone’s going to get their money’s worth and I won’t be getting rich off of this thing. And seriously, anyone who would complain about a $20 admission fee for a 100+ mile race is probably an asshole anyway.

In addition to the top 3 riders getting paid, I’ll select a rider whom I think is a badass and award them a cash prize, just for being awesome. This rider will be selected exclusively by me, using the same criterium I used to select the winner of the Surly frame last year.

If there are any questions regarding what I think is “awesome”, please refer to this photo of my nephews:

Awesome 101

                 Being an uncle is serious business.

And just to prove I’m not some d-bag trying to make money off of grassroots cycling, I’ll allow any racer who couldn’t finish the course in 2012 to race for FREE in 2013.  Just to clarify that: If you DNF’ed in 2012, you may race for free in 2013.  I think that’s more than fair. Registration will open soon.

You may now return to your New Year’s day hangovers.

