These are growing all over the place right now

These are growing all over the place right now

Well folks, the clock is winding down and raceday will be here pretty damn quick. Bikereg.com tells me we have 78 riders joining us on May 4th, and I’m pretty stoked about that. I’d like to see the number pass 100 by raceday, but as long as everyone has a good time..numbers don’t really mean anything to me.

Today is a joyous day, because about 10 minutes ago I finally received the final permit allowing us to have the race. I’ve been pretty stressed out about it, as I’m sure you can imagine. You would literally not believe the amount of paperwork, fees, licenses, insurance, etc that goes into one of these events once you charge an admission fee. It’s a whole bunch of fun, let me tell you.

The old Burnett School..on Burnett School rd.

                              The old Burnett School..on Burnett School rd.

On that subject, you may have noticed that the race fee went up to $30. Here’s the shorthand version of why I’m doing that:

Since we’re charging an admission fee this year, the Forestry service needs me to have insurance before they can issue a ($75) permit. The cheapest insurance quote I got was “at least $1,000. “Apparently beer-swilling gravel cyclists are high-risk..go figure. Out of options, I got a Gran Fondo permit, ($25) from USAC, after paying them $150 to be listed as a race director. There have been plenty of other expenses, but I think you get the picture.

So, everyone who doesn’t already have a USAC license will need to sign a 1-day license for $10. I don’t like it anymore than you do, but that’s how it goes. If you’re already signed up, you can either pay the $10 on raceday or tell me to kiss your ass. Either way, I won’t hold it against you 

All that aside. this is STILL the best deal on endurance cycling in Missouri. The course is Awesome, the sponsors are awesome, the free beers and baked potatoes will be awesome, and the list goes on. If anyone has a serious complaint about the extra $10, please don’t hesitate to keep it to yourself.

Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, I’d like to talk about the course.

A few days ago, I took the leaf blower out and cleared the 2nd and 3rd sections of singletrack. I’d say the horse damage right now is a 4/10. The trails are presently cleared of weeds, leaves and horse-poo…they are ready for your enjoyment.

You're welcome

                                         You’re welcome

I’ll be clearing the final 2 singletrack sections in a few days. Hopefully the rain quits and they dry out before raceday. The woods are really beautiful right now, and I hope while you’re riding/pushing your bike through them, you take a moment to appreciate the beauty that will surely surround you.

The creek crossing just off of North Millsite road

                              The creek crossing just off of North Millsite road

In other news, the Cedar Sapling has 6 riders signed up. That means there will be AT LEAST a $60 cash prize for the winner of that category, and I now have $60 of prize money to contribute to the “Race within the Race”  between Don and Corey. Yes sir, this thing is shaping up very nicely.

I guess that’s it for now. Please don’t hesitate to email me with any questions or post them in the comments. And if there are any locals who would like to help do some weedeating soon…let me know.

