Tags

, , , , , , ,

wpid-20130429_060518.jpg

                                                 As of yesterday, the final 10 miles of gravel were in excellent shape

Well folks, It’s Cedar Cross Week. By now your bikes are all dialed in and you’re deciding which type of facial hair you’ll need to conquer the second installment of Missouri’s first and only, (as far as I know), Monstercross race. A stranger approached me today and told me my beard was awesome, so I’m feeling pretty confident. I hope you can say the same.

Weather conditions have been less than ideal in the weeks leading up to this event, so it’s safe to assume we’ll be riding through a bit of mud on Saturday. Epicnicity abounds, and I say we should embrace it. Beginning tonight, I’ll be camping at various locations along the course.. weedeating, leaf blowing, barbecuing and drinking beer like it’s 1999. I can’t control the moisture or horseshit content of the trail, but I can certainly control how many trees and thorns are laid across it.

I love this old house

                                          I love this old house

I’m also hoping that waiting until the last minute to finish trail work will keep a few horses away. We’ll see how that goes.

On a more exciting note, I’ve received word that my good friend Rich Clark of Backcountry Research has mailed off our sponsorship package…and it should be here tomorrow. To say I’m excited is a dramatic understatement.  If we get anywhere near as much gear this year as we did in 2012….There’s plenty to be excited about.

wpid-20130429_061224.jpg

And speaking of excitement, tomorrow I’m announcing how the prize money will be distributed. Let’s just say the difference between first and 2nd place is….significant.

I guess that’s it for now. As always, all questions are welcome and appreciated. See you on Saturday!!!

