Tags

, , ,

For those who don’t already know, the Boydsville loop was removed from last year’s course because it had been completely trampled by horses. This section of trail, while only a few miles long, is what makes tire/bike selection so important for this race. It also goes right past a handful of abandoned, dilapidated homes in the middle of the woods. It’s pretty kickass if you ask me

As of last weekend, the entire loop is cleared off and race ready. It’s in the best condition I’ve seen yet, so we’ve got plenty to be excited about.

 

Downhill straightaway

Downhill straightaway

In other news, I read a Facebook post today that absolutely pissed me off. I’m not going to elaborate much, other than to say it disgusts me when people condemn others based on their level of fitness. In that same vein, I want people to know that while the Cedar Cross is “a race”, our main goal here is to have a good time. It’s not about who’s the fastest or the fittest, it’s about getting together with like-minded people and riding our damn bikes.

These guys get it

These guys get it

I’m not going to lie, I LOVE seeing fast riders on raceday. It’d blow my mind to watch people like Dan Miller, Peat Henry, Jim Phillips or Emily Korsch sprint it out for first place.  But the real thrill for me is watching those last place finishers limp their way across the finish line. These are the people who thought they’d never make it; the ones who wanted to quit but didn’t.  It’s quite a feeling to hand that person a cold beer and watch them stare into the fire. Moments like those makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something.

John Regions - Last place finisher for '13. A man to be celebrated.

John Regions – Last place finisher for ’13. A man to be celebrated.

But I’m straying from the point. This is an event I want everyone to attempt twice.  I’ve always made it known that folks who DNF’d in the previous year can race for free the following year, and this year I’d like to expand on that a bit.

Effective immediately, anyone wanting to race Cedar Cross who weighs 250+ pounds can race for free. On top of that, if you weigh 300 or more pounds, not only will I let you race for Free, I will personally run your SAG support. You will want for nothing. Water, GU…whatever; I don’t give a shit. I’ll ride right next to you all day. I’ll fix your flat tires, lube your chain and take pictures. You WILL have fun.

There’s no reason to miss out on this event. You think you’re too fat or out of shape to finish this race? Bullshit; I finished Dirty Kanza weighing 260 pounds. By cycling standards I’m fatter than the guy from LOST.

And if you don’t weigh 250 pounds and you still want to participate….it’s a frickin $20 race, man. Quit your crying. Raceday is in one month.

