Well my friends, raceday has come and gone. As far as I can tell, most people had a good time and everyone is still alive. The facebooks are exploding with quality photos and before long we’ll be reading race reports from cyclist bloggers. But before all of that happens, I thought you’d like to hear about a few of the truly awesome happenings you may have missed out on while you were riding the course.

I love seeing photos like this

I love seeing photos like this

As you hopefully already know, this year’s first place finisher was to be awarded with $500 cash. My hope was that a few hammerheads would tear one another’s legs off trying to win and give the rest of us a great show. What actually happened was much more satisfying than that.

Instead of turning on one another in the name of monetary gain, the 6 cyclists pictured below finished together and donated the $500 to the Team Noah Foundation.

image

..And that’s just about the classiest thing they possibly could’ve done. I have enormous respect for these guys!!

The winner of the Cedar Sapling had to leave right after finishing the race, but we did manage to get his photo before he peeled out.

imageGuessing from his jersey, I’d say his $100 and swag bag can be dropped off at Walt’s bike shop sometime soon.

The fastest woman across the line was one of my favorite people, the silkiest of chromes and a model of true sportsmanship…Emily Korsch.

A fearsome competitor always humble in victory

….and the Cinderella story of the day happened at about mile 30 when Don Daly, (a 45 year old Singlespeeder), saw his dreams of victory turn to ashes….when his GEARED bike sheared a derailleur. We picked him up on the side of the road and gave him shit relentlessly…for about four hours.

He was a good sport about it, though

He was a good sport about it, though

I woke up on Sunday with a bit of a hangover, but was pleased to check my bank balance and see that we actually made some money off of the race this year:

As you can see, I'm totally in this for the money

                                         BOOYAH!!

I’ll get the results posted in the next week or so and once we get the details sorted out I’ll announce one more BIG winner from this year’s race. I truly hope you all had a good time, I know I did.